Wednesday, August 06, 2014

Turned their bylines into headlines

By Dushiyanthini Kanagasabapathipillai

 Curtain raiser of ceremony
The Chief Guest Prof Thoma is being welcomed

Lighting of the oil lamp
Observing a minute silence

Lifetime Achievement Awards (Gold Medalists) ~ Rasaiah Selvarajah, D.Solomon Ranasinghe, Bandu S.Kodikara, Ajantha Ranasinghe, and Anne Abayasekara (seated)

Special invitees at the awards night

The Annual Journalism Awards for Excellence was held at the Mount Lavinia Hotel on 5th of August 2014. 189 entries were received for 14 categories for Journalism Awards for Excellence 2013.  This is the 15th edition of the annual Journalism Awards for Excellence programme which was initiated by the The Editors' Guild of Sri Lanka (TEGOSL) in 1999, and now is being conducted jointly by The Editors' Guild of Sri Lanka and the Sri Lanka Press Institute.

 Beautiful Bharatha Natyam adding colour to awards night

Aanya Wipulasena of the Sunday Times receiving the Denzil Pieris Young Reporte of the Year Award from Kumar Nadesan, The Chairman of Sri Lanka Press Institute
Dushiyanthini Kanagasabapathipillai, journalist cum photojournalist receiving her Photojournalist of the Year 2013 award from Sunil Jayasekara, Convenor, Free Media Movement, at Journalism Awards for Excellence

Another section of audience

Cultural event during the awards night

Randima Attygalle of the Island receiveing Upali Wijewardena (English Medium) Award from Wijewardena
Drummers' beats

Awantha Attigala of Daily Mirror receives Caroonist of the Year

Dharisha Bastians of Daily FT receives Journalis of the Year from the Chief Guest Prof  Thoma

Performers entertaining photojournalists


Post a Comment

<< Home